All Saints from Garnswllt
As a relatively young community that grew with the coming of the railway and the industrialization of the locality tthrough coal and tin, Amanford did not have a church until 1885, when St Michael's Church was built. This could not however cope with the rapid rise in population and in 1903 a public meeting decided to build a new parish church, to be funded by donations and public subscription. The eventual cost was £14,077 against an estimate of £5,500.
Built in 1911-1915, All Saints Church Ammanford was designed by W. D. Jenkins of Llandeilo and the foundation stone was laid by Lady Dynevor. The fittings were designed by Jenkins and made by the Worcester firm of Haughton. The planned tower was added in 1924-26 as a War Memorial. Its later addition explains why the clock is placed above the bell lights which were part of the original 1915 structure. It was designed by Charles Mercer of Swansea.
The hammerbeam nave roof is especially attractive, while the Victorian Gothic style is lightened by art decor carved heads of the chancel arch corbels. The structure is a triple aisled nave and chancel with vestry and organ chamber built in the manner of transepts, but off the chancel. The organ was originally water powered. Unusually for an Anglican church there is an immersion baptistry under the central aisle at the west end of the nave.
Today it provides one of the iconic views of Ammanford, built above the town with the Gorsedd in the background, it is visible from miles around, as well as providing the backdrop to Ammanford Cricket Ground.
Web Design by Geoff Davies Photographs © Geoff Davies 2012